Mrs. Meena Inamdar completed the training course for the mentally retarded with first class with a view to educate her retarded daughter Sujata. Taking inspiration from Sujata's case, Mrs. Inamdar thought of working for the education of other mentally retarded children too. With cooperation of other mothers of the mentally retarded children and people interested in social welfare work, Mrs. Inamdar took the lead and founded Jeevan Jyot Mandal (in 1980), a public charitable trust for the education of the mentally retarded. At that time there was just one institution in Pune for the training of the retarded. Smt. Nalini Karve, a mother of a retarded girl, helped Mrs. Inamdar in the foundation of the trust.

Veteran writer Shri. P. L. Deshpande visited the institution.


There were six inmates in the institution to start with. By (October) 2005, there were 160 students in the special school, vocational training school and hostel and child guidance clinic run by Jeevan Jyot Mandal. Soon after the foundation of the trust, Jeevan Jyot Mandal got a plot of 12000 square feet area.

Later in 1993, two hostels for retarded girls and boys were inducted in the activities by the trust in two separate buildings. These hostels are about 7 kilometres from the site in Tarate colony.

Felicitations [October 2012]

The community services of Jeevan Jyot Mandal have been applauded by the society on a number of occasions as follows:
1. Late Raja Mantri Puraskar
2. Rotary Club of Pune Uptown [Club No. 27952] and Inner Wheel Club of Pune Uptown [Club No. 4350] felicitated all the teachers on the account of Teachers' Day (September 5, 2006).
3. Pune Blind Mens Association
4. Umed Parivar (Pune) felicitated all teachers on account of Teachers' Day.
5. Dr. Jal Mehta Award of Excellance

Besides the trust, the contribution in this regard by Mrs. Meena Inamdar (mother of a retarded daughter and active member (founder) from beginning of the institution till date) is widely commended as follows-
1. Lions Club District 323 D-2, Region 2
2. Lions Club District 323 D-2, Region 1
3. Adarsh Vikas Mitramandal Pune - 9
4. Sane Guruji Smruti (Swapnil Sanskrutik Manch, Yamunanagar)
5. Year 1992 - Swaroop Seva (Swaroop Pratisthan)
6. August 10, 2004 - Punya Shlok Ahilyadevi Holkar Puraskar (Government of Maharashtra)
7. Year 2004 - Adarsha Mata Puraskar (Ninad)
8. Bahuvikalang Seva Puraskar (Deshastha Rigvedi Brahman Shikshanottejak Sanstha, Pune)
9. Adkar Foundation
10. November 28, 2007 - "Adarsh Shikshak" Puraskar (Bal Shikshan Kendra, Pune)
11. December 12, 2008 - "Baya Karve Puraskar" (Maharshi Karve Stree Shikshan Sanstha)
12. December 17, 2010 - Bhau Beej Puraskar (Uttung Sanskrutik Parivar Trust)
13. Year 2010 - Bhagini Nivedita Foundation
14. October 2011 - "Avantika"
15. December 7, 2011 - Gurumahatmya Puraskar (Late Smt. Laxmibai Dagadusheth Halwai Shree Dattamandir Sansthan Trust)

Jeevan Jyot Mandal Organisational Features

The school and the vocational training centre are aided by the Social Welfare Department of the Government of Maharashtra (note that, the salaries of the qualified and trained approved/sanctioned teachers and instructors and a part of the other expenses are paid by government, the salaries of all the hands involved in teaching and assisting the regular sanctioned staff are not). Donors and philanthropically inclined institutions and bodies like Lions Club, Rotary Club extend help monetarily and in kind (school uniforms, television sets, tape recorders, washing machines, furniture, solar water heater (for the hostel), utensils and similar)

School Uniform
Blue half pant and blue checked shirt for boys
Blue skirt and blue checked blouse for girls
White uniforms on fridays for physical training classes
There is no discrimination while giving admissions. All MR children irrespective of the financial status of their parents have to follow the same procedure for admission.

The institute has FCRA No. 083930121 (dated March 20, 1985). Yearly audited report is forwarded to the home ministry in this regard.

Executive Body
(April 1, 2011 - March 31, 2013)

Mrs. Meena Inamdar, President (Founder Member)
Mrs. Meena Mainkar, Vice President
Mr. Ramchandra Inamdar, Secretary
Mrs. Urmila Patwradhan, Treasurer
Smt. Managala Kulkarni, Jt. Secretary
Mrs. Usha Kelkar, Jt. Treasurer
Mrs. Usha Gosavi, Founder Member
Mrs. Ujwala Kulkarni, Member
Smt. Pratima Awasthi, Member
Mrs. Lalita Joshi, Member